Reflection


So, my mum had Kory for me and Rory whilst we spent some time together. We went for something to eat and did a spot of shopping and it was nice. We don’t get to do this very often any more and I really appreciated the time we spent together. I didn’t realise how much I’ve missed spending time just the two of us. I love Kory with every part of me and I miss him whenever I’m not with him but I’ve been so wrapped up in being a mum that I’d forgot I’m also still Kirsti, I’m also still someone’s partner, someone’s friend, someone’s daughter. I’ve made a promise to myself that I’m going to make time for myself and for others and allow Kory to do things without me too. I’m not afraid to admit that I am one of those mums that doesn’t like to be away from her child, I do experience anxiety when I know I’m leaving him under someone else’s care (despite knowing he will be well looked after!) but I’ve realised that by having time away from Kory, it’s not just good for me but good for Kory too, he’ll get to spend time with other family members and I get to spend time doing other things too. It’s only been recently too that I’ve noticed Kory being more cranky than usual when it’s just me and him, maybe he’s been trying to tell me himself!

It’s like they say, absence only makes the heart grow stronger…

Leave a Reply

